Underground Poetix 5

Hey, I have some poems in Underground Poetix 5. Underground Poetix is an Istanbul based publication that is producing some amazing work. They translated a selection of work from Urchin Belle for their new issue, check it out if you get the chance. I always seemed to get in trouble when I was in Turkey, not quite Midnight Express but rusty nails were always in the back of my mind, I used to score off a guy who’d been in jail there an’ he used rusty nails to bring out weeping sores – you know, so’s they’d leave him alone, he was a crazy fucker an’ you had to talk to him in code, on the phone, at the door, even in his house, I guess jus’ cos you’re paranoid doesn’t meant they’re not out to get you. If you find yourself in Bodrum though, check out the Penguin cafe right at the end of the main way, it has beautiful views over the ocean an’ does divine cakes.

Other work going out soon is new UK stuff, some in USA, some in a New Zealand anthology which is nice after the hardback last year over there, also a broadside in India, and this one in Istanbul, not bad for a girl who is still appalling at sending work out. What’s nice is half of these people found me which is nice, I like that my poetry’s travelling, long may it continue to do so. Salut, salut Jx

